• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Tartu Old Believers Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

Põik tn 10, Tartu linn, Tartu maakond, 50603

Tartu Old Believers Prayer House is a small and cosy house of God in the hall under the tower of a large and impressive prayer house destroyed by bombing during the war. This is the only part of the house the congregation has managed to restore by today. You can also see icons from the 19th century and the works of local 20th century icon painters in the Tartu Old Believers Prayer House.Service in Russian takes place at 10 a.m. on Sundays.

Amenities

  • Free parking

Open times

Throughout the Year

Eeltellimsel

Contact

  • +372 5396 7408
  • pavel@starover.ee

Links

See more

  • Churches

Võnnu St Jacob’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

Come and see one of the biggest and oldest country churches in Estonia – Võnnu St Jacob’s Church. Church was built 1232-1236. The altar of the church is adorned by the painting ‘Christ on the Cross' (Otto von Moeller, 1873). Several buildings of the rectory (19th century) are architectural monuments. The church is surrounded by a 2 ha park established in the beginning of the 19th century.Interesting facts: - the organ of Võnnu Church (1895) is considered one of the clearest sounding instruments in Estonia; - the classicist tomb monument to R von Nolcken, who fell in the Battle of Borodino, can be seen in the church (sculptor Paolo Triscorni).

  • Churches

St Bartholomew’s Church in Palamuse

Palamuse Church is one of the oldest medieval churches in northern Tartu County. The church was first mentioned in documents in 1234. As a fortress church, it provided protection from invaders during wars. There is a burial ground around the church, which has two preserved headstones. The unique wooden sculptures on the altar and pulpit date back to 1696. There is a dry-stone painting on the eastern outer wall. Services are held in the church every Sunday at 11 a.m. The church also organises concerts and plays.

  • Churches

Kasepää Old Believers’ Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

When in Kasepää Village near Lake Peipus, go and visit the prayer house of Russian Old Believers, which has been operating without interruption since the 18th century.The current prayer house was built at the beginning of the 20th century. It was designed by the governorate architect Wilhelm Schilling in 1902. The Florov school masters renewed the icons of the iconostasis in the prayer house before the Second World War. Some of the icons in the chapel date back as far as to the 17th century.Prayers are held in the chapel in Russian on Sundays at 10 a.m.

  • Churches

The Liphardt tomb chapel

The Vastseliina manor chapel, popularly called the Liphardt tomb chapel, is situated in the old cemetery of Vastseliina (also known as the German cemetery). The chapel was completed in the same year as the current Vastseliina church, in 1772.The Liphardts, one of the wealthiest noble families of Livonia, governed the entire Vastseliina parish from Misso to Orava and ruled Vastseliina for seven generations. In addition to Vastseliina, the family also owned several other manors, including the Raadi manor.The Vastseliina manor chapel is one of the most remarkable examples of early classicist rural chapels.Visitors are welcome to see the exterior of the chapel only.

  • Churches

Kükita Old Believers Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

The first prayer house of Old Believers in Estonia is located in Kükita. The Kükita Prayer House was consecrated on September 14, 1740. During the war of 1812, the Cossack Old Believers donated a chandelier to the Prayer House. There were a total of 397 Old Believers in the list of parishioners of the Kükita congregation by 1833. The current Prayer House was built in 1948 in place of the one destroyed in World War II.Old Believers have services every Sunday and on all holidays (Christmas, Pascha and Epiphany).

  • Churches

Valga Roman Catholic Church of the Holy Spirit

The church was built of natural stone and bricks in 1907. Lithuanian and Polish railway workers were actively involved in building the church. The church operated until 1940 and from 1945, the building was used as a warehouse and later as a gym.The extension of the church was built in 1995 and the church was renovated. Interesting facts: * the church does not have a tower as the imperial government of Russia refused to give permission to build one.

  • Churches

Tartu St. Peter’s Church

Tartu St. Peter's Church is one of the most beautiful neo-Gothic Lutheran sanctuaries in Southern Estonia, established in the late 19th century as a spiritual home for the growing Estonian-speaking community. Designed by architect Viktor Schröter, the church is distinguished by its 56.5-meter-high tower and impressive brick facade, which reshaped the entire Ülejõe district's appearance. The church hall is bright and spacious, featuring a remarkable three-story interior. Wooden balconies and neo-Gothic arches add warmth and a dignified rhythm to the space, creating the impression of a true city cathedral. Visitors can admire Johann Köler's altarpiece "Inviting Christ" (1897) and listen to the late-19th-century 22-register organ, making Peetri Church one of Tartu's most esteemed concert venues due to its excellent acoustics. The church was established near the site of Estonia's first national song festival and has been an important part of Estonian cultural and congregational history since its cornerstone was laid in 1882.

  • Churches

Tõrva Church – Chamber Hall

The Helme-Tõrva Apostolic Orthodox Church of the Birth of Christ was built in Valga Street in the years 1903 to 1904. Karl Shurin was in charge of the building work. The two domes and bell tower made the church one of the most imposing churches in the Viljandi Apostolic Orthodox Deanery. The church was seriously damaged during the fierce battles fought in September 1944 and it was only restored in 1990 as a chamber hall.Interesting facts: * the church was also used for salt and cement storage during the Soviet times; * the church-chamber hall currently belongs to the Lutheran church.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com