• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Kükita Old Believers Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

Kalda tn 264, Mustvee vald, Jõgeva maakond, 49504

The first prayer house of Old Believers in Estonia is located in Kükita. The Kükita Prayer House was consecrated on September 14, 1740. During the war of 1812, the Cossack Old Believers donated a chandelier to the Prayer House. There were a total of 397 Old Believers in the list of parishioners of the Kükita congregation by 1833. The current Prayer House was built in 1948 in place of the one destroyed in World War II.Old Believers have services every Sunday and on all holidays (Christmas, Pascha and Epiphany).

Amenities

  • Free parking

Open times

1. juuni - 31. aug

Eeltellimsel

Contact

  • +372 53745471

Links

See more

  • Churches

Saatse Church

Saatse Church was completed in 1801. This congregation has been a mixed congregation of Setos and Russians. Saatse's biggest holiday is St. Paraskeva's Day (the last Friday in July.). Paraskeva means "Friday" in Greek. The church has "royal gates" from the old wooden church, and a 15th century stone cross. The only saint of Seto background is associated with the church: St. Stefanus, a former parish priest, who is depicted in icons in Seto folk costume. In 1919, Stefanus was shot along with Father Vassili, who was also declared a saint.

  • Churches

Saint Isidore’s Main Church in Valga

This historicist-style church is built from red and yellow bricks and has five domes and a bell tower. It is one of the four representative churches of the Apostolic Orthodox Church in Estonia. The church is named after the priest martyr Isidore of Tartu. The church was built in 1897–1898 and was consecrated in 1898. The architect of the building is Vladimir Lunski.The church was built in 1896 for the congregation of Orthodox Russians and Latvians.

  • Churches

Rajaküla Old Believers’ Worship House

It is believed that the Raja congregation of Old Believers was established in the first quarter of the 18th century. The congregation was given permission to build its own church only in 1879. The church was destroyed during the Second World War – the only thing left is the belfry. The present worship house has 11 rooms. In 1854–1930 Gavriil Frolov lived in the worship house. He taught children icon-writing, reading and writing in Old-Slavic, also singing based on old musical notation.

  • Churches

Memorial Tablet of the Northern Sons of Finland

A black granite memorial tablet bearing almost 200 names was installed on the wall of the Valga Jaani (St John’s) Church in 1934 in remembrance of the Finnish volunteers who fell in the Paju Battle of the War of Independence. The polar bear sign of the Northern Sons Regiment is shown on the shield above the stone. In 1940 the memorial tablet was demolished with pickaxes by the order of communists. The memorial tablet was reopened on the 80th anniversary of the Paju Battle in 1999.Interesting facts: * the memorial tablet was opened in 1934 by President Konstantin Päts; * the first table was made in Finland and the second one in Tartu; * donations for the second tablet were collected by Ylistaro Rural Municipality (Finland) at the initiative of Ossi Salo.

  • Churches

St. Nicholas’ church, Põltsamaa

This Lutheran church, originally constructed on a bastion and the town's walls, was restored from its war-time ruins 50 years ago. Its altar, pulpit, lights and tower bells (XIX) are from the now defunct University of Tartu church.

  • Churches

Catherine’s Church in Võru

28,000 silver roubles were donated towards the construction of this Lutheran church by Russian empress Catherine II. It was blessed on 24 July 1793, when it received the name 'Catherine'. It is thought that the church - which was designed in early classicist style with baroque roots and which boasts stunning arched windows - was designed by the architect Christoph Haberlandt from Riga. Renovations in 1879 saw its tower receive a new dome, and a four-faced clock was also installed. The church has an organ built by the Kriisa brothers in 1913. You can visit the church on Sundays during mass times.

  • Churches

Miikse Church

The Miikse St. John the Baptist Church is a small wooden Orthodox church located in the southeastern corner of Estonia in Setomaa. What makes this church special is its story. It was built in 1953, during the Soviet era, when religion and church construction were not encouraged. However, the local people took a bold step and built the church themselves, often working in the evenings and at night to avoid the authorities' attention. Today, Miikse Church is once again a symbol of the strength and perseverance of the Seto community, where the local community restored the dilapidated sanctuary into a new and striking Seto church. The altar and icons were preserved, but the new facade features a lace-like pattern using Seto colors (red, blue, and sheep's wool white) and Seto belt patterns. The church's surroundings also include an old cemetery and sacred stones, which lend the place a special historical and spiritual atmosphere. The church is open once a month during service, and at other times, access can be arranged by agreement with the church elder (who communicates in Estonian and Russian). For a foreign-language tour of Setomaa, we recommend booking a local guide.

  • Guided tours
  • Churches

Varnja Old Believers Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

The big beautiful prayer house in Varnja Village on the shores of Lake Peipus was funded and built by the congregation itself. Most of the many icons of the prayer house date back to the start of the 20th century.Visitors can only enter the church with a reservation.The cost of a single visit for a group starts from 50 euros. Visitors get an interesting overview of the life and history of the Old Believers from a local guide who is also an Old Believer. The excursion may last for about an hour - the visit and a warm experience are worth it!Reminder: Women are asked to enter the prayer house with a covered head.We ask you not to take photos or videos in the prayer house.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com