• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Võnnu St Jacob’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

Pargi tee 2, Kastre vald, Tartu maakond, 62401

Come and see one of the biggest and oldest country churches in Estonia – Võnnu St Jacob’s Church. Church was built 1232-1236. The altar of the church is adorned by the painting ‘Christ on the Cross’ (Otto von Moeller, 1873). Several buildings of the rectory (19th century) are architectural monuments. The church is surrounded by a 2 ha park established in the beginning of the 19th century.Interesting facts: – the organ of Võnnu Church (1895) is considered one of the clearest sounding instruments in Estonia; – the classicist tomb monument to R von Nolcken, who fell in the Battle of Borodino, can be seen in the church (sculptor Paolo Triscorni).

Amenities

  • Free parking

Open times

Throughout the Year

Eeltellimsel

Contact

  • +372 5293100
  • vonnu@eelk.ee

Links

See more

  • Churches

Rannu Apostolic Orthodox Church

The Apostolic Orthodox Church in Rannu (Rannu Orthodox Church) was built during 1899-1901 and consecrated on 5 May 1905 to celebrate Jesus going to Jerusalem. Therefore the church is also called the Rannu Church of the Lord Going to Jerusalem.The activities of the Orthodox congregation were terminated in 1961 and the church was used as the warehouse of the Rannu collective farm. In the 1980s, Rannu State Farm decided to make amends for the injustice and restored the church. The church has been previously used as a concert venue due to its excellent acoustics.Currently the church is not used for services.

  • Churches

Memorial Tablet of the Northern Sons of Finland

A black granite memorial tablet bearing almost 200 names was installed on the wall of the Valga Jaani (St John’s) Church in 1934 in remembrance of the Finnish volunteers who fell in the Paju Battle of the War of Independence. The polar bear sign of the Northern Sons Regiment is shown on the shield above the stone. In 1940 the memorial tablet was demolished with pickaxes by the order of communists. The memorial tablet was reopened on the 80th anniversary of the Paju Battle in 1999.Interesting facts: * the memorial tablet was opened in 1934 by President Konstantin Päts; * the first table was made in Finland and the second one in Tartu; * donations for the second tablet were collected by Ylistaro Rural Municipality (Finland) at the initiative of Ossi Salo.

  • Churches

St. Nicholas’ church, Põltsamaa

This Lutheran church, originally constructed on a bastion and the town's walls, was restored from its war-time ruins 50 years ago. Its altar, pulpit, lights and tower bells (XIX) are from the now defunct University of Tartu church.

  • Lookout towers
  • Churches

St. John’s Church in Tartu

Tartu's Gothic-style St. John's Church dates back to the 14th century, making it one of the oldest churches in Estonia. It is known for its unique terracotta sculptures, which are considered rare in all of Europe. The church once had over 1,000 handmade terracotta statues; about 200 have survived. Each sculpture is different, which has led to speculation that they may depict Tartu's former inhabitants or other important people. The tower of St. John's Church offers a wonderful view of the entire historic old town of Tartu. It houses two bronze bells, called Peter and Paul. On the last Sunday of every month, the church holds a service in English!

  • Churches

Rannu St Martin’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

The church dedicated to St. Martin is located on the Estonian Pilgrim Route, which starts from Pirita Monastery and ends at the Vana-Vastseliina Episcopal Castle. There is also a prayer bench in the churchyard.Come and see one of the oldest parish churches in Estonia. You can also can go to the spire, which offers a unique view of the beautiful Lake Võrtsjärv and the surroundings.Good to know:• The Church participates in the Wayfarers Churches and the Night of Churches projects.• The night battle from the feature film Names on a Marble Slab (2002) was filmed in Rannu Church garden.You can visit the church on Sundays during the service or by prior arrangement.

  • Churches

Karula Maarja (St Mary’s) Church

Karula Church has been working in the converted manor granary since 1997. The most special feature of the church is the stained glass painting 'Eucharist' of Estonian artist Dolores Hoffmann which depicts local people as the disciples against the background of the holly landscape of Karula.The doors of the Karula Church are open to visitors during Sunday services. Please contact a representative of the congregation if you wish to visit the church some other time. Interesting facts: • The same building was used as an animal barn during the Soviet times. • The stained glass painting was donated to Karula Church by the descendants of the German squires the von Grotes.

  • Churches

EELC Roosa Jacob’s Church

The legend speaks about the owner of Roosa manor, who had promised to build a church if he is saved from a shipwreck. When he had happily escaped the sea, he fulfilled his promise and the first church was built in Roosa in 1735.The current church is the third one in Roosa, built in 1893.The massive quarrystone walls have round-headed windows and brick ornaments, the tower has four sides and triangular gables. The altar-piece is a copy of the ″Christ on the Cross” from the St. Mary's Church in Rõuge and the organ is the first church organ the Kriisa brothers built in 1900.

  • Churches

Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church: St. George’s Church in Laiuse

Laiuse Church was first mentioned in 1319. It was destroyed during the Livonian War, the Polish–Swedish War, and the Great Northern War, but it was re-built. The church, which originally was a hall-church with three naves and no tower, is built from local limestone and its corners are made from large limestone dry-stones. The tower, which was destroyed in World War II, was restored in 1970. The building was restored in 2000–2001.The church organises a lot of concerts and services are held every Sunday at 1 p.m.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com