• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Kasepää Old Believers’ Prayer House of the Estonian Association of Old Believers Congregations

Peipsi tn 63, Peipsiääre vald, Tartu maakond, 60302

When in Kasepää Village near Lake Peipus, go and visit the prayer house of Russian Old Believers, which has been operating without interruption since the 18th century.The current prayer house was built at the beginning of the 20th century. It was designed by the governorate architect Wilhelm Schilling in 1902. The Florov school masters renewed the icons of the iconostasis in the prayer house before the Second World War. Some of the icons in the chapel date back as far as to the 17th century.Prayers are held in the chapel in Russian on Sundays at 10 a.m.

Open times

Throughout the Year

Eeltellimsel

Contact

  • +372 5395 3701
  • pavel@starover.ee

Links

See more

  • Churches

Karula Maarja (St Mary’s) Church

Karula Church has been working in the converted manor granary since 1997. The most special feature of the church is the stained glass painting 'Eucharist' of Estonian artist Dolores Hoffmann which depicts local people as the disciples against the background of the holly landscape of Karula.The doors of the Karula Church are open to visitors during Sunday services. Please contact a representative of the congregation if you wish to visit the church some other time. Interesting facts: • The same building was used as an animal barn during the Soviet times. • The stained glass painting was donated to Karula Church by the descendants of the German squires the von Grotes.

  • Lookout towers
  • Churches
  • Ruins

Tartu Cathedral

The cathedral located on Tartu's Toome Hill is one of Estonia's most remarkable and largest medieval structures, and the only church with two towers. The church's construction began as early as the 13th century, when Tartu was an important bishopric. Construction work and additions continued into the early 16th century. During the Reformation, the cathedral was abandoned and, over time, turned into ruins. Nevertheless, these powerful walls and spacious vaults remain one of the most outstanding examples of brick Gothic architecture in Old Livonia, reflecting the scale and craftsmanship of medieval architecture. The University of Tartu Museum operates in the cathedral building, showcasing the history of science, university education, and the development of Tartu's academic spirit. It is possible to visit the cathedral towers, which offer one of the most beautiful views of Tartu and the Emajõgi Valley. Next to the towers is Toompood, where you can find gifts, science-themed souvenirs, and memorabilia with university symbols. In the evenings, a light installation adds a magical atmosphere.

  • Churches

Pindi church in Lasva

Pindi Jaani (St. John's) church was built according to the plan by architect J. G. Mühlhausen. The church was consecrated in 1881. A massive tower stands In the western part of the rectangular church, the vestry is in the north-eastern part. The altarpiece is a copy of the one in Rõuge church, "Jesus on the cross" by Rudolf von zur Mühlen. The new organ built by the brothers Kriisa was consecrated in 1903.The grave and monument of Captain Friedrich Vreeman (1894–1919), who was killed in the Estonian War of Independence, are in the church cemetery. Service is held Sundays at 10.30.Useful information: Laine Villenthal, who was the first woman ordained as a minister in Estonia, served in Pindi church until 2004.

  • Churches

Rõngu St Michael’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

The medieval Rõngu St Michael's Church is dedicated to the Archangel Michael. The church is also known as the oldest building in Rõngu.The church has suffered major damage in several wars, and over time, the original architecture has been partially altered during the restorations. The current shape of the church dates from the last reconstruction in 1901.Today, the most significant parts of the church are the altarpiece (1901, the work of a Dresden artist), the organ (V. Müllverstedt, 1874), and the stained-glass windows (1900, the work of Riga artists).The church participates in both the 'Wayfarers' Churches' and the 'Night of Churches' programme.The church can be visited on Sundays during the service or by prior arrangement.

  • Churches

Tartu Salem Baptist Church of the Alliance of Estonian Evangelical Christian Baptist Congregations

Come and take look at the modern and spacious church of the Tartu Salem Baptist Congregation (architect Maarja Nummert). The church was opened on 28 June 1988 with a concert and thanksgiving service. You are welcome to enjoy concerts in the church hall that has great acoustics and space for almost 400 people. Interesting facts: - the only baroque organ in Tartu is in the Tartu Salem Baptist Church; - the church offers accommodation to travellers.

  • Churches

Urvaste church and cemetery on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv

The EELC St. Urbanus' Church in Urvaste, Võru County is one of the oldest and most unique country churches. The earliest written records date back to 1413, which means that 600 years have passed since the church was first mentioned.The church we see today – a three-naved Gothic basilica – was consecrated on 5 September 1889. The entire interior of the church also dates back to this time. In 1938, The organ was built by the Kriisa brothers in 1938, while the church bells date back to 1832.From the yellow National Geographic window on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv, you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the Urvaste church and the primeval valley of Lake Uhtjärv. The window marks one of the 21 places worthy of discovery in South-Estonia.

  • Churches

Memorial Tablet of the Northern Sons of Finland

A black granite memorial tablet bearing almost 200 names was installed on the wall of the Valga Jaani (St John’s) Church in 1934 in remembrance of the Finnish volunteers who fell in the Paju Battle of the War of Independence. The polar bear sign of the Northern Sons Regiment is shown on the shield above the stone. In 1940 the memorial tablet was demolished with pickaxes by the order of communists. The memorial tablet was reopened on the 80th anniversary of the Paju Battle in 1999.Interesting facts: * the memorial tablet was opened in 1934 by President Konstantin Päts; * the first table was made in Finland and the second one in Tartu; * donations for the second tablet were collected by Ylistaro Rural Municipality (Finland) at the initiative of Ossi Salo.

  • Churches

The Liphardt tomb chapel

The Vastseliina manor chapel, popularly called the Liphardt tomb chapel, is situated in the old cemetery of Vastseliina (also known as the German cemetery). The chapel was completed in the same year as the current Vastseliina church, in 1772.The Liphardts, one of the wealthiest noble families of Livonia, governed the entire Vastseliina parish from Misso to Orava and ruled Vastseliina for seven generations. In addition to Vastseliina, the family also owned several other manors, including the Raadi manor.The Vastseliina manor chapel is one of the most remarkable examples of early classicist rural chapels.Visitors are welcome to see the exterior of the chapel only.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com