• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Puhja St Dionysus Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

Elva tee 6, Elva vald, Tartu maakond, 61301

The medieval Gothic church is located on the ancient Pirita–Vastseliina pilgrim route. The white walls of the sanctuary are characterised by narrow and high round arched windows and beautiful relief motifs on the western façade.The organ used in Puhja Church is a rarity throughout Europe. It is estimated that only 10 other similar organs have survived. Those who wish can also go to see the spire or visit the church museum of Puhja parsonage.Good to know:The church participates in the Wayfarers Churches and the Night of Churches programmes.Worship every Sunday at 11 a.m. The church can also be visited by prior arrangement.

Amenities

  • Information boards
  • Free parking

Open times

Throughout the Year

P11:00 - 12:00

Contact

  • +372 55563876
  • tiit.kuusemaa@eelk.ee

Links

See more

  • Churches

Tõrva Church – Chamber Hall

The Helme-Tõrva Apostolic Orthodox Church of the Birth of Christ was built in Valga Street in the years 1903 to 1904. Karl Shurin was in charge of the building work. The two domes and bell tower made the church one of the most imposing churches in the Viljandi Apostolic Orthodox Deanery. The church was seriously damaged during the fierce battles fought in September 1944 and it was only restored in 1990 as a chamber hall.Interesting facts: * the church was also used for salt and cement storage during the Soviet times; * the church-chamber hall currently belongs to the Lutheran church.

  • Churches

St. Mary’s Church in Rõuge

The first stone church was constructed in Rõuge in the 16th century. In 1730, the original church, which was destroyed in the Great Northern War, was replaced with one which had an imposing square tower. The church was blessed in the name of St. Mary. The altar-piece "Christ on the cross" by R. von Mühlen is from 1854. In 1860 the walls were made higher and a mirrored arch was installed. In 1930 the church got a 31-register organ built by the Kriisa brothers. The first Estonian pastor in Rõuge was Rudolf Gottfried Kallas.Useful information! You can attend mass at the church every Sunday at 11:00 and in summer, the church is used as a wayfarers' church. Entrance to the tower is for a fee (grown ups 1.50, children 1 and family ticket 3 euros).

  • Churches

Äksi St. Andrew’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

This neo-Gothic church with its tall and slender tower is an integral part of the beautiful landscape of Vooremaa. The church has a spacious and stylish Historicist interior. The church is thought to have been built in 1770 and was reconstructed in 1889. A monument to the pastor and renowned linguist Otto Wilhelm Masing can be found in the Church Manor (1989).

  • Churches

Rajaküla Old Believers’ Worship House

It is believed that the Raja congregation of Old Believers was established in the first quarter of the 18th century. The congregation was given permission to build its own church only in 1879. The church was destroyed during the Second World War – the only thing left is the belfry. The present worship house has 11 rooms. In 1854–1930 Gavriil Frolov lived in the worship house. He taught children icon-writing, reading and writing in Old-Slavic, also singing based on old musical notation.

  • Churches

Urvaste church and cemetery on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv

The EELC St. Urbanus' Church in Urvaste, Võru County is one of the oldest and most unique country churches. The earliest written records date back to 1413, which means that 600 years have passed since the church was first mentioned.The church we see today – a three-naved Gothic basilica – was consecrated on 5 September 1889. The entire interior of the church also dates back to this time. In 1938, The organ was built by the Kriisa brothers in 1938, while the church bells date back to 1832.From the yellow National Geographic window on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv, you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the Urvaste church and the primeval valley of Lake Uhtjärv. The window marks one of the 21 places worthy of discovery in South-Estonia.

  • Churches

Tartu St Luke’s Church of the Estonian Methodist Church

Tartu St Luke’s Church is a modern sacral building (architect Indrek Allmann), which is located in the Toomemägi area. Interesting facts: - Tartu St Luke’s Church was declared the best new building in Tartu in 2002; - the church is located on the site that used to belong to the famous professor of surgery Zoege von Manteuffel.

  • Ruins
  • Lookout towers
  • Churches

Tartu Cathedral

The cathedral located on Tartu's Toome Hill is one of Estonia's most remarkable and largest medieval structures, and the only church with two towers. The church's construction began as early as the 13th century, when Tartu was an important bishopric. Construction work and additions continued into the early 16th century. During the Reformation, the cathedral was abandoned and, over time, turned into ruins. Nevertheless, these powerful walls and spacious vaults remain one of the most outstanding examples of brick Gothic architecture in Old Livonia, reflecting the scale and craftsmanship of medieval architecture. The University of Tartu Museum operates in the cathedral building, showcasing the history of science, university education, and the development of Tartu's academic spirit. It is possible to visit the cathedral towers, which offer one of the most beautiful views of Tartu and the Emajõgi Valley. Next to the towers is Toompood, where you can find gifts, science-themed souvenirs, and memorabilia with university symbols. In the evenings, a light installation adds a magical atmosphere.

  • Churches

St Zachariah’s and St Elizabeth’s Orthodox Church in Räpina

St Zachariah’s and St Elizabeth’s Orthodox Church in Räpina is a neo-Classical oblong building consisting of three parts. In the Western part there is a bell tower and in the Eastern part a crescent-shaped apsis. A cupola with a tambour is in the middle of the building. The exterior of the building is in classical style, incorporating cornices and rustic work. Simple iconostasis of the 19th century catches the eye in the interior.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com