• Explore
    • Nature
    • Culture
    • Food
    • Family
    • Activity
    • Blog
    Smoke sauna
    Weather and seasons
  • Plan
    • Accommodation
    • How to get here
    • Weather and seasons
    • Sustainability
    • Tourist info
    Discover South Estonia’s Most Beautiful Manors and Castles
    Top 20 Sights in South Estonia
  • For professionals
    • For professionals
    • Collaboration
    • News
    • Projects
    • Training
    • Repository
    • Community (opens in new tab)
    • Contacts
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
ENG
  • EnglishENG
  • EestiEST
  • LatviešuLAT
  • РусскийRUS
  • SuomiFIN
Popular searches:
Show all
  • History & Culture
  • Architecture and history
  • Churches

Värska Church

Velna tee 1, Setomaa vald, Võru maakond, 64001

The patron saint of the Värska Orthodox Church is St. George. The most important church holiday is St. George’s Day, which is celebrated in Setomaa on May 6 and culminates with the afternoon kirmaski, or village party.
The church was built with money from the community, and the original iconostasis from the beginning of the 20th century has been preserved, part of which is an icon of St. George painted on a tree in the 17th century. The church also has several handmade holy shawls.
Värska cemetery is next to the church, and several important Seto cultural figures are buried there.

Amenities

  • Free parking

Open times

Throughout the Year

Eeltellimsel

Contact

  • +372 5660 6703
  • andreas@eoc.ee

Links

See more

  • Churches

St John’s Lutheran Church in Kanepi

St John’s Church is an eye-catching building; its architect was Friedrich Siegel. There is an altar painting Christ on the Cross (A. Bauer, 1857) and a pseudo-Gothic altar, and two nationally protected wooden candlesticks (1810) and an armchair from the birch wood dating from the 18th century. On top of the spire there is a morning star. Interesting to know: St John’s Church in Kanepi was built in 1804-1810 to replace the old wooden church. In 1831 the church was set on fire by lightning. The church in Kanepi has been in its current state since the year 1877.

  • Churches

Tartu St Alexander’s Church of the Estonian Apostolic Orthodox Church

Come and take a look at the two-storey St Alexander’s Church in Tartu with its onion domes inspired by old Russian church architecture (architect Vladimir Lunski). Construction of the church started in 1914 and it was re-consecrated in 2003. Interesting facts: - a zinc box with the remains of a saint and a copper plate with a letter have been placed in the cornerstone of Tartu Alexander’s Church. The cornerstone was put in place by Archbishop Ioann during the reign of Emperor Nicholas II on 27 May 1914; - the church was nationalised in 1940 and it was used as a storage building by the University of Tartu and the Estonian National Museum.

  • Churches

Obinitsa Church and Cemetery

Obinitsa Church was built deep in the Soviet era: 1952, when the country was led by Comrade Stalin. The people's desire for a new sanctuary (the old church was given to the school) was so great, that it bypassed the politics of the day. The Obinitsa Church's main holiday is 19 August - The Feast of the Transfiguration - and thousands of people visit the church that day to remember their ancestors and spend time with a relatives. People have been buried in Obinitsa Cemetery for at least 1,500 years. The oldest burials are marked by small stones located in the western part of the cemetery. The well-known Seto singer Hilana Taarka and the creator of the Obinitsa Museum, Lidia Sillaots, are buried in this park-like cemetery.

  • Churches

Urvaste church and cemetery on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv

The EELC St. Urbanus' Church in Urvaste, Võru County is one of the oldest and most unique country churches. The earliest written records date back to 1413, which means that 600 years have passed since the church was first mentioned.The church we see today – a three-naved Gothic basilica – was consecrated on 5 September 1889. The entire interior of the church also dates back to this time. In 1938, The organ was built by the Kriisa brothers in 1938, while the church bells date back to 1832.From the yellow National Geographic window on the shores of Lake Uhtjärv, you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the Urvaste church and the primeval valley of Lake Uhtjärv. The window marks one of the 21 places worthy of discovery in South-Estonia.

  • Churches

Nõo Holy Trinity Church of the Estonian Apostolic Orthodox Church

There is a remarkable historicist Orthodox church with quarrystone and brick walls and five onion-cupolas in Nõo small borough.The Nõo Congregation was founded in 1852 for Estonian Orthodox Christians who previously belonged to the Tartu Georgi congregation. The architecturally remarkable church is made of quarrystone and red bricks and has a bell-tower in the western side. It was completed in 1873. The interior architecture of the church is simple and the iconostasis dates back to the late 19th century.Services are held in the Holy Trinity Church in Nõo on the second Saturday of each month.

  • Churches

St Michael’s Lutheran Church in Räpina

This church, dedicated to the archangel Michael, was completed in 1785. It stands on the shores of a man-made lake in Räpina and enjoys beautiful views over Sillapää castle and park. The walls of the church, which was constructed in Late Baroque style, are made from rendered natural stone. The front of the church is adorned with sculptures dating from the time of its construction, which symbolise Hope and Love.One of the church's most valuable assets, the two-part altar painting entitled 'The Appearance of the Risen Jesus to Mary Magdalene' and 'The Burial of Jesus', was painted by Carl Antropoff in 1871.

  • Churches

Saint Isidore’s Main Church in Valga

This historicist-style church is built from red and yellow bricks and has five domes and a bell tower. It is one of the four representative churches of the Apostolic Orthodox Church in Estonia. The church is named after the priest martyr Isidore of Tartu. The church was built in 1897–1898 and was consecrated in 1898. The architect of the building is Vladimir Lunski.The church was built in 1896 for the congregation of Orthodox Russians and Latvians.

  • Churches

Rannu St Martin’s Church of the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church

The church dedicated to St. Martin is located on the Estonian Pilgrim Route, which starts from Pirita Monastery and ends at the Vana-Vastseliina Episcopal Castle. There is also a prayer bench in the churchyard.Come and see one of the oldest parish churches in Estonia. You can also can go to the spire, which offers a unique view of the beautiful Lake Võrtsjärv and the surroundings.Good to know:• The Church participates in the Wayfarers Churches and the Night of Churches projects.• The night battle from the feature film Names on a Marble Slab (2002) was filmed in Rannu Church garden.You can visit the church on Sundays during the service or by prior arrangement.

  • Collaboration
  • News
  • Contacts
  • Privacy Policy
Join our mailing list!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
I authorise marketing

South Estonia Tourism Cluster

info@visitsouthestonia.com